Kat Von D Tattoo Liner

If you’re a fan of tattoos- I am, and I myself personally have a few tattoos (Which I will one day talk about, promise), you should at least know who Kat Von D is or are familiar with her, and her self-named, exclusive to Sephora (Though not in the physical stores in Malaysia it seems- I’ve only seen her small fragrance rollerball sets so far and nothing else) makeup range has always been on my radar even though I am not a huge fan of her personally, but more of I am a fan of the philosophy, feel and imagery behind the makeup range. Come on, it’s tattoos and has a vintage theme! :P

Image nicked from Squidoo. An old photo of Kat Von D for her makeup line, but my favourite.

It was only recently that I’ve finally managed to get my hands on the one thing I’ve been lemming-ing and lusting after the most from her makeup range, the Tattoo Liner, from the U.S.A. Sephora site thanks to my beloved boyfriend and the wonderful forwarding service he provides so I can shop :D I am a HUGE self-confessed eyeliner junkie, and eyeliner is the very first makeup product I’ve used, even before base makeup. It was Estee Lauder Artist’s Eye Pencil in 01 Softsmudge Black (Which is now sadly discontinued), and ever since then I’ve gone through and tried quite a few (OK, quite a lot of) eyeliners- pencil, liquid, gel, you name it. But without further adieu…

Kat Von D Tattoo Liner

What it is:
A liquid liner pen that works on the face and the body.

What it does:
Achieve dramatic eyes and create temporary tattoos with this water-resistant must-have that brings out the artist in you. The innovative brush tip makes it easy to make your personal vision a reality.

Unlike most eyeliners, the Kat Von D Tattoo Liner comes in a matte body which is very nice to touch, with gothic-themed fonts and designs stenciled on in silver (The stars are similar to the star tattoos Kat Von D herself has on her face), that makes it stand out even more from other eyeliners, at least to me. Size-wise it’s slightly shorter than most eyeliners I have in my arsenal, but I don’t see it as a problem :P The box is similarly themed, with the gothic-themed fonts and a grey vintage rose design on it. Simply unique and gorgeous *_*

The colour I got was Trooper, which is described as  being “ink black”, and it really is as black- just the way I like my eyeliners to be. I have a gripe with eyeliners which turn out to be “watery” black, as in the case with most KATE liquid eyeliners I’ve tried, which requires a lot of layering to achieve a truly black line and sometimes that backfires- layering too much can rub off the eyeliner instead :| However, when compared to my other favourite, long-standing eyeliner- the Urban Decay 24/7 Waterproof Liquid Eyeliner in Perversion, it’s still not as black and especially “shiny” (Almost lacquer-like?), requiring two layers/strokes to achieve the effect (Namely the “shine”) as one layer/stroke for the Urban Decay 24/7 Waterproof Liquid Eyeliner, but it’s still great pigmentation nonetheless.

The Kat Von D Tattoo Liner has a stiff yet very flexible and pliable nylon-bristled tip, which, despite my regular use, has not feathered nor even showed any signs of attempting to split apart yet, unlike the Heavy Rotation liquid eyeliner I’ve tried, which split into half after some time. The swatches are made with just one layer/stroke, and demonstrates how the eyeliner can quite easily and effortlessly draw thin, medium and thick-ish lines with its nib, and it’s very easy to use, being pen-type! I can attest that it’s waterproof and smudge-proof (It also dries fast once applied) so far, and removes easily without much effort with eye makeup remover so you don’t have to tug at your eyes when removing it. It also doesn’t irritate and/or sting my eyes so that’s good too :)

This eyeliner is definitely easily Holy Grail or HG status for me, sharing the same favourite spot with the Urban Decay 24/7 Waterproof Liquid Eyeliner, but winning slightly in ease of use, so I tend to take this with me when I’m travelling because of that. I definitely need to restock this eyeliner during my next U.S.A. Sephora haul!

Kat Von D Tattoo Liner costs US$ 18 for a 0.55ml pen from the U.S.A. Sephora site as it’s a Sephora exclusive brand.

Ingredients: Water, Ammonium Styrene/Acrylates Copolymer, Butylene Glycol, Alcohol, Beheneth-30, Phenoxyethanol, Acrylates/Octylacrylamide Copolymer, Metylparaben, Polygylceryl-3 Disiloxane Dimethicone, Propylparaben, Sodium Hydroxide, Disodium EDTA, Black 2.

5 thoughts on “Kat Von D Tattoo Liner

  1. Er. What the hell does ‘lemming-ing’ mean? I thought it was just lemming? Poor grammar, boo. And “without further adieu”? I think it’s without further ado. Why are you saying “Without further goodbye”?

    What a crap blog.

    • Well, if you’ve been reading a lot of blogs, you tend to notice that people make up words all the time, as is the case with “lemming-ing”, which means I’ve been lemming after it… but then again THAT’S not a proper sentence/word either right? :P I’m sure there are plenty more examples where that came from. But oh dear forgive me for the wrong usage of ado/adieu, I get confused about that sometimes. My bad. Thank you for correcting me on that though! :)

      But if you think my blog is “crap” just because of those issues then I really have nothing to say but sorry for your bad experience here, and thank you nonetheless for taking the time to drop by and to comment! Especially on a post that’s quite “old” compared to the other posts on the front page xxxxx

      • Coining words only works if everyone’s convinced that you understand the rules and that in an exercise of wit, you’ve chosen to break them. Sadly the writing level on this blog doesn’t convince anyone of that.

        And come on, “without further adieu” was an attempt at showing off and sounding posh which backfired hilariously.

        • Considering that I’m the writer of this blog, I don’t find it wrong to be coining/using words should I find them suitable for the context of my posts :) I’m sorry if my supposed “coining” (Because I do not take claim of doing so) of the word “lemming-ing” gave you a bad impression, but a quick search on Google will show you that I’m not the only one using that word in the same context: https://www.google.com.my/#hl=en&sclient=psy-ab&q=lemming-ing&oq=lemming-ing&gs_l=hp.3..0i30l4.8708.9929.0.10014.11.10.0.0.0.0.369.1358.2j6j0j1.9.0.les%3B..0.0…1c.1.8WaDaXVwqn4&pbx=1&bav=on.2,or.r_gc.r_pw.r_cp.r_qf.&fp=886d8d0dec47d75e&bpcl=37189454&biw=1280&bih=685 (You can copy paste this link, or search for “lemming-ing” on Google and voila!)

          I really apologise for the wrong usage of “without further adieu” and “without further ado”, I always thought it was the former. Clearly I do not read enough texts (Books/journals/articles/whatever) that use the words often enough for me to be confused between the two. It’s a legitimate slip-up, for that I am deeply sorry for and I promise it won’t happen again!

          Thank you for taking the time to comment too, Ling ;) xxxxx

  2. Pingback: Ushering In 2013 With Style… « beaute fabuleuse

Share Your Thoughts

