Saturday Meme- 5 Travel Must-Haves

In this week’s Saturday Meme, the lovely Sukie of A Little Bit Of Everything (Delayed due to unforeseen circumstances) and I shall talk about something that we seem to be doing quite often, and especially this month- travelling! I seem to travel a lot by plane myself, as I’ve been flying back and forth Labuan and K.L. ever since I was a child- my family’s business is in Labuan where I grew up and all relatives are in K.L. so we travel from Labuan to K.L. to visit them (Especially my late grandparents) but now it’s reversed and I mainly travel from K.L. (Where Mum, little brother and I have moved to for our tertiary educations since about 6+ years ago- Dad‘s unable to move due to the business) to Labuan to help out with the family business (Especially now). Kota Kinabalu (Commonly abbreviated as K.K.), Sabah is quite a frequent destination for me as well :) I digress… sorry for the rambling and personal disclosure, but I do get asked a lot about it though :x

Naturally, there must be something that we just have to have around when we travel, hence this week’s Saturday Meme topic! So in no particular order, my 5 Travel Must-Haves– things that I have to have with me when I travel :) Take not though that most, if not all of them, are more “recent” must-haves, which means that I’ve only started having them with me when I travel since at least 10 years ago and not from childhood  :P

1. Lip balm

Image nicked from Dr. Hauschka Skin Care.

Lip balm is a definite must on my carry-on, because I find that my lips react very quickly to the dry cabin air in flights. The trick here for me though, is to constantly re-apply, especially whenever my lips start to feel dry (Also, I up my liquid intake as well). My current favourite is Dr. Hauschka Lip Care Stick, which keeps my lips hydrated for much longer without feeling tacky or sticky or being heavily-fragranced, which can give me a headache *_*

2. Eau Thermale Avene Thermal Water Spray

Image nicked from Eau Thermale Avene.

This is an absolute Holy Grail/HG for me, as I’ve mentioned here (And yes the picture is recycled from there too) :) Apart from having it as a staple in my skincare/makeup routine, I carry along the smallest sized bottle when I travel and spritz it on my face, and it does a very good job of keeping my skin soothed and well-hydrated, especially during my travels where I am exposed to air conditioning and dry-ish air :P My skin hardly feels dry and/or tight when I travel, but it can be a little flakey if I am not careful so this works very well to prevent it!

3. A book/magazine/something to read

Image nicked from here.

As a self-confessed bibliophile, I definitely need to have reading material. It doesn’t matter what- newspapers, the in flight magazine (Malaysia Airlines– the airlines which I always fly, has a pretty good in flight magazine in my opinion) or the in flight shopping brochure, if I don’t have anything to read, I might die of boredom :P Though, I usually still tend to bring along a physical book as I also have a habit of reading before bed where ever I am, and would feel “empty” without at least a book to accompany me during my travels.

4. iPhone/iPad

Image nicked from Apple.

Similar to the above- the purpose of which is to keep me entertained! I also use them to jot down notes, or any ideas or epiphanies that suddenly cross my mind, or update my itinerary/shopping list/to-do lists/any lists I may have and need to, though, as paper/notebooks/journal and pencil/pen (My preferred method, really) don’t work very well in the cramped-ish quarters of a plane. And obviously I have my iPhone on Airplane Mode when I’m in a flight :P Sometimes I’d use my iPhone to take pictures during the flight (If I so fancy) as compared to my camera, as my iPhone is usually with me and my camera is usually on my carry-on in the overhead compartment.

5. Camera

Image nicked from Digital Photography Review.

Not necessarily a must on board a flight (Though it’s always on my carry on but most of the time in the overhead compartment), but definitely during travels to record moments and memories! I’m currently using a Panasonic Lumix LX-3, the same camera I use for taking most of the photos on the blog (The rest are from my iPhone), and am also thinking of getting another camera, just that I’m not sure what I should get yet as I’m getting more and more familiar with taking photos with my LX-3 for now hmm :P

So there you have it, my 5 Travel Must-Haves, or at least the ones that were on the top of my head as I’m writing :P It was a little hard as I do have other things I must have with me when I travel, e.g. my skincare for one! Do you have any travel must-haves? Feel free to participate on your blog, or let Sukie and me know in the comments if you do! :D And don’t forget to check out what are Sukie‘s 5 Travel Must-Haves too! ;)

Share Your Thoughts

