Urban Decay Naked Skin Weightless Ultra Definition Liquid Makeup

Here’s a little fact: I’ve had a huge crush on the brand Urban Decay ever since I’ve started seriously looking into makeup, about 4 years ago, and that hasn’t changed until now. It’s still one of the brands I’d definitely still look at and like, and I do currently own a few of their products- the 24/7 Glide-On Eye Pencil in Zero, 24/7 Waterproof Liquid Eyeliner in Perversion, Cannonball Ultra Waterproof Mascara, 24/7 Glide-On Lip Pencil in Gash,  and most recently the Naked2 palette, all of which I really, really like. The brand never fails to intrigue me with their packaging, for one, and I’ve been so far satisfied with all the stuff I’ve tried from them :P

So when I was trawling the Urban Decay website one day sometime in July, I came upon the announcement and then subsequently the launch of the new Urban Decay Naked Skin Weightless Ultra Definition Liquid Makeup (Quite a mouthful isn’t it? Let’s just refer it to the Urban Decay Naked Skin foundation), and it intrigued me. A lot. So much so that I really wanted to try it, being the foundation junkie and/or hoarder that I am, and since I’m getting into liquid foundations. And so I bought it from the U.S.A. Sephora website as soon as it was available :D

Urban Decay Naked Skin Weightless Ultra Definition Liquid Makeup

Coverage without compromise. Our weightless formula blurs imperfections for a flawless finish that feels invisible, but looks professionally retouched.

Urban Decay Naked Skin foundation comes in a rather tall, sleek, transparent plastic bottle, topped with a shiny, elegant-looking gunmetal-coloured cap, which surprisingly, doesn’t catch fingerprints that easily unless you touch it right after handling foundation or something similar. It’s pretty light yet quite sturdy and solid at the same time. I also find that the colour of the cardboard box the foundation bottle is housed in quite reminiscent of the Naked2 palette :P

It claims to be lightweight and almost invisible while having buildable coverage with a demi-matte finish (Which is neither flat nor shiny but kind of luminous) that makes gives you that airbrushed look, thanks to its light-diffusing spheres which “blur” imperfections, and also contains skin-nourishing ingredients such as Matrixyl 3000 (Which are anti-wrinkle and lifting peptides), litchiderm (From the lychee fruit), green tea and vitamin E and sodium hyaluronate.

What’s also unique about the Urban Decay Naked Skin foundation is its shade matrix- they are numbered, and shades ending with a .0 are warmer, yellower/more olive shades while shades ending with .5 are cooler, pinker/more rosy shades, so it’s quite easy to find your shade I guess. They also have quite a handy shade matcher that helps you discern your shade if you’re buying it sight unseen like I am, and based on it I am a Shade 3.0, which is what I got.

The foundation is dispensed via a pump, which, to me so far, has got to be one of the smallest pumps I’ve ever seen on a foundation bottle, which is good because there’s no room for wastage- you are able to control how much you’ll use and only pump out what you need. For me I only needed to use about 3/4 pump for my entire face. It says on the back of the bottle that you have to shake it before use, and shaking it makes it rattle inside, much like nail polish would. As you can see in the swatch, Shade 3.0 is quite a yellow shade, but it blends well into my skin (My face is of a different shade than my arm) so the shade matcher was pretty accurate for me!

The texture of the Urban Decay Naked Skin foundation is neither thick nor overly watery, and it does blend well into the skin, though I need to work a little harder blending when using it over my Marie Veronique Organics Moisturising Face Screen SPF 30. It is lightweight and feels invisible as promised, and the coverage is indeed buildable without looking thick or cakey or feel heavy. It also really did give me the “my-skin-but-better” look and I didn’t exactly experience any extra oiliness if any. The finish is just as promised- not too matte, not too shiny, as a matter of fact, the glow it gave me is quite amazing. However, I did experience some sliding off of the foundation especially around the nose area, but that’s only about after the 8-10 hour mark so that’s still acceptable to me. Overall though I would say that this is a pretty decent foundation and I do like it quite a lot especially for its finish and result :)

Fret not though fellow Malaysians, I read from the local Sephora‘s latest e-mag that the Urban Decay Naked Skin foundation is going to be available in stores for RM 142 from September 2012 onwards. I can’t confirm this at the time of writing as I’ve not dropped by the stores to check it out, and if they do have it already, hurrah!

It cost me US$ 38 on the U.S.A. Sephora website, but the local Malaysian Sephora stores now carry it for RM 142, and it comes in a 30ml  bottle.

Ingredients: Aqua (Water/Eau), Cyclopentasiloxane, Butylene Glycol, Silica, Cyclohexasiloxane, Dimethicone, PEG/PPG-18/18 Dimethicone, Sodium Chloride, Camellia Oleifera Leaf Extract, Litchi Chinensis Pericarp Extract, Tocopheryl Acetate, Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate, Tribehenin, Palmitoyl Oligopeptide, Palmitoyl Tetrapeptide-7, Sodium Hyaluronate, Glycerin, Dimethicone/PEG-10/15 Crosspolymer, Dimethicone/Polyglycerin-3 Crosspolymer, Isopropyl Titanium Triisostearate, Polysorbate 20, Disodium Cocoyl Glutamate, Sodium Cocoyl Glutamate, Propylene Glycol, Carbomer, Cetyl PEG/PPG-10/1 Dimethicone, Hexyl Laurate, Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate, Caprylyl Glycol, Phenoxyethanol. All shades may contain: CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), CI 77491/77492/77499 (Iron Oxides).

Share Your Thoughts

