M.A.C Lipstick In Russian Red

I have caved. I finally gave in to the allure of red lips and got myself a proper red lipstick. The closest I got was Chanel Rouge Coco Shine in Monte Carlo (A review will be up, I promise), and for MWS Awards last October in which the “dress code” was red lips, I used a lip liner (Urban Decay 24/7 Glide-On Lip Pencil in Gash) as a lipstick, which were, in my opinion, still great alternatives :P I’m not very adventurous when it comes to lipsticks, preferring nude-coloured lipsticks, lipglosses or tinted lip balms instead, you’ll know why later!

I redeemed the classic Russian Red from my nearby M.A.C outlet via the Back To M.A.C program- you know, 6 M.A.C empties (In my case it was bottles of the M.A.C Brush Cleanser) for a lipstick (Note: The sales advisor I asked confirmed that it only applied lipsticks, but it does not apply to the Viva Glam) after much dithering on what shade I should get, and in the end I just bit the bullet and just settled with Russian Red because it’s “famous” :P

M.A.C Lipstick (Matte) in Russian Red

Colour plus texture for the lips. Stands out on the runway. Simmers on the street! What made M.A.C famous.

Intense bluish-red.

It comes in the standard black and silver M.A.C bullet-shaped lipstick case, which all the other lipsticks also come in barring the Viva Glam (Which is the same too, but the only difference is just the colour of the metal and/or signatures or other embellishments) and limited edition lipsticks. It’s quite sturdy and has some heft, so it’s definitely not cheaply. Some might find it a little boring and variety-less though, especially if they have quite a few M.A.C lipsticks already, but it’s a classic for sure.

Russian Red is categorised as a Matte lipstick- M.A.C has other lipstick formulations or finishes such as Satin, LustreCremesheen and many more. I was quite apprehensive at first about the texture and how it would fare on my lips, but I am glad to report that my apprehensions were disproved. The texture is actually quite creamy and is easy to apply, whether directly or with a lip brush (I tried both methods for the sake of the review, and I don’t plan on letting it go). It did not dry out my lips at all- I first tried it on with lip balm underneath (As I usually do), and it diluted the colour a little (It looks glossier too, but the colour payoff wasn’t as pretty on me), but when I tried it alone without any balm later (Nicer colour payoff) I find that it wasn’t drying either despite being a matte lipstick. It has a very slight vanilla smell and taste, nothing too serious or too much though.

It’s quite a fun and of course, rather daring colour to wear and actually looks quite good on me (I have never tried it at all prior to buying, and was a little worried it wouldn’t suit me), and I found myself wearing it out for a shopping trip with Mum and my little brother. It’s definitely a very classic colour- it’s the red lip colour that comes to mind whenever people say red lips, at least to me. I cannot report on its lasting power at the moment, especially when food is involved, as I haven’t really brought it for a test drive in that aspect, but I can say for sure that it’s very pigmented as I have some trouble removing it, and that it can smudge all along the lip line if you’re not careful! :P

It’s supposed to retail for RM 68 for a 3g tube of lipstick and is available at all M.A.C outlets.

Ingredients: Octyldodecanol, Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil, Silica, Tricaprylyl Citrate, Ozokerite, Isononyl Isononanoate, Paraffin, Phenyl Trimethicone, Microcrystalline Wax/Cera Microcristallina/Cire Microcristalline, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Copernicia Cerifera (Carnauba) Wax/Cera Carnauba/Cire De Carnauba, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Tocopherol, Vanillin, Acrylates Copolymer, Polyethylene Terephthalate, Stearyl Stearoyl Stearate, [+/- Mica, Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Blue 1 Lake (CI 42090), Carmine (CI 75470), Red 6 (CI 15850), Red 6 Lake (CI 15850), Red 7 Lake (CI 15850), Red 21 Lake (CI 45380), Red 28 Lake (CI 45410), Red 30 Lake (CI 73360), Red 33 Lake (CI 17200), Yellow 5 Lake (CI 19140), Yellow 6 Lake (CI 15985), Yellow 10 Lake (CI 47005)].

Confession time- I have what is known as “rabbit teeth”. Not too obvious like a rabbit but close, and it does pose some problems when I wear lipsticks- my two front teeth sometimes stain as lipstick seems to rub off on it, and that’s what has been keeping me away from lipsticks in colours other than nude (So it wouldn’t show too obvious), lipglosses and tinted lip balms. But with M.A.C Russian Red I don’t seem to get that problem, which is a huge plus point and a sigh of relief as I don’t have to keep checking my teeth every 10 seconds!

2 thoughts on “M.A.C Lipstick In Russian Red

    • Hehe photos of myself will come soon ;) Well I’m quite glad I did though and it’s quite an adventure LOL :D Though I think my next “red” purchase will be from Shiseido (I love Japanese lacquerware which is why I’m so sold on it :P) and I think that’ll be enough red lippes for now- one solid one liquid hahaha!

Share Your Thoughts

