Delayed Saturday Meme- 5 HG Skincare/Makeup

Apologies for another delayed Saturday Meme that also replaced this week’s Sunday Tip– I just flew in to Labuan (For work, until this 13th August) yesterday night and was too knackered, and I’ve been very busy all week hence being unable to draft and/or schedule the post in advance :(

This week dear Sukie of A Little Bit Of Everything and I will list out our 5 HG (Holy Grail) Skincare/Makeup :D Granted, while writing this list I realise that I have more than 5… but I guess I’ll have to scale it down to 5 anyway :P Anyway, since I am also in Labuan now and with decanted/travel-sized/stripped-down versions of my usual skincare/makeup, I am unable to take photos of my HG skincare/makeup in their proper glory so I shall use stock images instead. Please do bear with me on this one!

1. Urban Decay 24/7 Waterproof Liquid Eyeliner in Perversion

Image nicked from Urban Decay.

This is a definite must-have in my arsenal. I hardly ever go out without some eyeliner if I can help it, and I have been using eyeliner since I was 19 years old, the first makeup I’ve used even before foundation/powder. Using eyeliner seems to make me look more polished and less tired (Yes, beats concealer most of the time for me) and after experimenting with a lot of different types and brands of eyeliners I have settled with the Urban Decay 24/7 Waterproof Liquid Eyeliner in Perversion (Black) as my absolute HG- even when I still do try out other eyeliners, I seem to always come back to this. It’s easy to use, is super black (The way I like it) and lasts until you remove it (Or actually, rub it really hard, but that hardly happens), so what’s not to love? :D

2. Marie Veronique Organics Moisturising Face Screen SPF 30

Image nicked from Marie Veronique Organics.

Ah sunscreen, one of the more important skincare one could use, at least in my opinion. I’m a huge fan of Marie Veronique Organics Moisturising Face Screen SPF 30 (Which I have reviewed here) ever since I read it on Viva Woman and could get my hands on them (Thanks to my lovely boyfriend) :D I use a mix of both the Extra Light and Light versions to better suit my skin, and the reason why this sunscreen is HG for me is not only because it’s an important component in skincare, but also because it works wonderfully for me and I get a peace of mind using it as it has been rated as one of the top Best Moisturisers With SPF by the Environmental Working Group Skin Deep Sunscreen Guide, which attests to its efficiency, so I know I’m really protecting my skin :)

3. Melvita Calendula Oil

Image nicked from Melvita.

My sensitive skin saviour. I was recommended the Melvita Calendula Oil by the Melvita SA when I returned after having a bad reaction from using their Melvita Argan Oil, and it really saved my skin! I have reviewed it here, and even though I have tried a few different other sensitive skin serums after that (Which included the Melvita Soothing Care) I always seem to come back to this :P It seems to be a thick and greasy oil on first impression but it’s very quickly absorbed and makes my skin look quite dewy as opposed to oily, and I can really see the redness on my skin immediately disappear and how soothed my skin looks after massaging this in. Best of all, if I am experiencing any reaction from any skincare/makeup I’ve been trying this usually helps speed up the healing process, so HG it is!

4. Eau Thermale Avene Thermal Water Spray

Imaged nicked from Eau Thermale Avene.

Thinking back I have been using the Eau Thermale Avene Thermal Spring Water Spray ever since before I started to seriously dabble in skincare and/or makeup, because I was frequently flying back and forth from Labuan to Kota Kinabalu, Sabah and used this in-flight to cope with the drying effects of flying :P This was definitely more than 6 years back, and have never been without at least one bottle since. Nowadays I usually use it as my very last step in my morning routine- after skincare and foundation or powder, before eye makeup. I also use it once in a while during the day to refresh my skin, particularly if it’s being very hot and/or humid, or when I am constantly exposed to strong air-conditioning. It’s really effective in soothing and hydrating my skin, and even though I have tried other thermal water sprays, this is still my absolute HG because it works for me :P

5. Dermalogica PreCleanse

Image nicked from Dermalogica.

This is another product that I’ve been using for definitely more than 3 years– the Dermalogica PreCleanse, as the first step of my skincare routine at night to remove my sunscreen and makeup (Things which are difficult to remove with normal cleansers usually) and anything that has built up on my skin during the day. Before this I have tried the Shu Uemura Cleansing Oil (The original version) and it broke me out pretty badly so I was a little wary of using this, but am thankful that it works beautifully instead! It really helps to take off everything (Except eye makeup, which I use a separate makeup remover for, but this still works to help remove any residue from there) and doesn’t leave my skin feeling taut, dry, oily or uncomfortable in any way. And since I regularly use sunscreen and most of the time foundation as well now this is HG product indeed.

I hope you enjoyed this installment of the Saturday Meme, and I hope to be able to schedule it on time next week :P Please don’t forget to check out Sukie‘s 5 HG Skincare/Makeup too! Do feel free too to drop a comment if you’re keen on participating or have participated in this meme ;)

5 thoughts on “Delayed Saturday Meme- 5 HG Skincare/Makeup

  1. Yay we’ve got one similar product in our HG list – Thermal Sprays lol! I really enjoyed using the Marie Veronique sunscreen you gave to both Hanny and I earlier this year but the only small thing that bugs me is the factor 30. =D I’m more of an SPF50 and above person but if this is more readily available where we are I would still purchase a bottle and use it during days when I know I’m not going to be out for long! =) Also you and your eyeliner obsession is really starting to grow on me! About time I started learning how to do it properly =p

    • Hehehe yes hurrah for Thermal Sprays! :D Ah factor 30 is fine with me- there are a lot of camps regarding SPF 30/50 but I’m happy with the Marie Veronique sunscreen mainly because it works and it’s considerably safe and stable :) And yes I really wish it could be a bit more easily available too! :( I really do suggest you start with K Palette or Maybelline if you’re starting on eyeliner as the UD one takes a while to dry (But not that long) and it can sting if it accidentally goes too near your waterline, so it’s not a very good beginner’s eyeliner hahaha :P

      • I think most sunscreens are good as long as you re-apply them but being the kiasu person that I am (hehe) I much rather have something with a bigger number =D Okay this only works when we are talking about sun protection, not dress sizes! ;)

  2. Pingback: Saturday Meme- 5 Travel Must-Haves « beaute fabuleuse

Share Your Thoughts

