RMK Liquid Foundation

This is the liquid foundation that started it all for me. I’ve always had the misconception that liquid foundation was thicker and thus heavier than compact or powder foundations, and have always shied away from them. Also, the fact that most liquid foundations I saw had alcohol in them, and an unfortunate, one-time, long-time-ago experiment with Bobbi Brown Natural Finish Long Lasting Foundation SPF15 that contained a load of alcohol (I could smell it as I dispensed and applied it) and broke me out further put me off.

I forgot how I ended up with sample satchets of the liquid foundation and primer from the RMK counter in Isetan at The Gardens MidValley, and it was sitting in my bathroom cabinet for quite a while until one day, I just decided to give the liquid foundation a go. And I never regretted that decision or looked back since!

RMK Liquid Foundation

The essential RMK Liquid Foundation to create the brand’s signature natural-looking skin. Its fresh and light fluid texture spreads easily over the skin, creating a seamless balance of coverage and translucency to emulate the look of bare skin. The waterproof formulation protects against perspiration and water for long-lasting perfection.

RMK Liquid Foundation comes in a compact, hefty, square-shaped glass bottle with a silver-coloured plastic cap, which makes it not travel friendly and I constantly worry about knocking it over on the sink when I use it. It comes printed on both the bottle and the box with “Choose Me Take Me Open Up“, which seems to their little trademark. Nevertheless, it’s pretty elegant!

The shade I got was 102, which is supposed to be a yellow-based colour (Shades that begin with 2 are pink-based) but looks brown when dispensed (Swatch as pictured, on left), though it seems to be a very good match for my skin (Swatch as pictured, blended in on right). It has a watery texture and is thus very easily applied and blended (I use my fingers). Coverage is sheer, which is exactly the way I like it, and I think this is easily by far the most sheer liquid foundation I have ever used, though I think it’s still “heavier” than tinted moisturiser. As such, the finish it gives is very natural, very “my-skin-but-better” and glowy. It does not feel heavy and does not look thick and/or cakey either, and in terms of oil-control I personally find that it does quite a good job on me- I have dry/combination sensitive skin that can get oily on the nose sometimes but this one doesn’t give me an oily nose! :P

What I REALLY disliked about the RMK Liquid Foundation was not the fact that it comes in a glass bottle, but it’s method of dispensing. As you can see it doesn’t come with a pump or other dispensing methods but rather you have to pour it out. This may lead to wastage as I cannot control how much to use- sometimes I find myself pouring too little (Which means I have to do it again which is not ideal when my hands have some foundation residue) or too much, and even until now I have not yet perfected the “right” amount to pour out :\

I also love how RMK Liquid Foundation did not break my sensitive skin out (Touch wood touch wood), but it MAY have caused some congestion on the sides of my nose and chin, as my skin felt rougher in those areas after using this foundation (And my facial therapist noted that it’s a little more congested than usual there too), but it’s nothing some regular exfoliation (And perhaps facials) didn’t help with so I could live with it.

Overall this is my failsafe foundation and I always seem to come back to this after a while of trying out other foundations, when I want to look as natural as possible or when a foundation or powder I’ve been trying broke me out (E.g. Guerlain Meteorites Compact and Dior Diorskin Nude Natural Glow Sculpting Powder Makeup). I would probably use it more if not for the dispensing method, to be honest :P

It retails for RM 155 for a 30ml bottle and is available at all RMK counters.

Ingredients: Water (Aqua), Cyclomethicone, Alcohol, Titanium Dioxide, Phenyl Trimethicone, Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate, Sorbitan Isostearate, Diisostearyl Malate, Dimethicone Copolyol, Hydrogenated Egg Oil (Ovum), Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter), Magnesium Sulfate, Hydrolysed Silk, BHT, Ethylparaben, Butylparaben, [May Contain (+/-) Iron Oxides (CI 77491), Iron Oxides (CI 77492), Iron Oxides (CI 77499), Talc]

6 thoughts on “RMK Liquid Foundation

  1. OH dear. Your failsafe foundation may just be my failsafe too! :s Too many foundations but only one face and we both do not even use one pump of product for each use so I do not think I will be able to finish one bottle of foundation anytime soon! Then again… You make this sound too lovely, just too lovely… *starts lemming all over again*

    By the way, does RMK sell a separate pump for the foundation? =D

    • Yes exactly! Doesn’t help that I keep looking at other foundations too… this is not good- they’ll all end up half-used! T_T This IS very lovely though, am very pleased with it… though I think 102 might be a tad dark for you so 101 should be your shade. Tsk tsk, I need to let you try some RMK soon when I have a chance to drop by their counter(s) again! :)

      I asked, they don’t, unfortunately, which is pretty frustrating. At least the counter I asked :(

  2. Pingback: Saturday Meme- 5 Favourite Brands « beaute fabuleuse

  3. Pingback: News- RMK Makeup Workshop By International Japanese Artist « beaute fabuleuse

Share Your Thoughts

