Sunday Tip #12

Every Sunday I shall share here a beauty tip that I’ve read or heard about, and leave my comments or thoughts on it. Please feel free to leave your views, too! :)

Makeup applicators include brushes and sponges! It may be my OCD speaking but I find this very important- wouldn’t want built up dust, bacteria and old makeup on your face wouldn’t you? :P It may, after all, even interfere with your makeup application- making makeup look powdery/cakey/uneven.

I clean my brushes at least once a week, and if I’m trying a new product that requires a brush (e.g. powder foundation) I will clean the brush prior to using it on the product. I love M.A.C Brush Cleanser and always go back to it after having tried out other brush cleansers and/or other brush cleansing methods. It doesn’t last very long the way I use it- apply the brush cleanser, work it in, rinse with water, repeat if necessary until clean- but it does cleanse very thoroughly and I find that it cuts down the drying time, even for dense brushes. Also, going through bottles of it quickly means hello Back To M.A.C haha! :P I then wipe the washed brushes on a towel after cleansing, then wipe again on a microfibre towel or cloth and wrap it up in the microfibre towel or cloth (To protect against dust) to dry overnight.

As for other makeup applicators e.g. sponges, I tend to change them every 2 weeks if I am using them everyday, and I buy a large packet of makeup sponges for that purpose (Usually the ones from Guardian Pharmacy) :x

2 thoughts on “Sunday Tip #12

  1. U got me hooked to using MAC’s brush cleaner too! Only gripe is that MAC’s more expensive over here +__+ I don’t use sponges though as I feel they absorb a lot of product and dont last very long. Trying to save the environment here too by reducing waste (yea right) :D

    Do you double cleanse your brushes eg use MAC brush cleaner then rinse out with shampoo? I do that because it make my natural hair brushes so much softer! :p

    • I seriously cannot recommend MAC’s brush cleaner enough! *_* Aww that’s too bad that it’s more expensive there though >_< I hardly use brushes now that I'm using liquid foundation so I haven't restocked the brush cleaner either (They do run out pretty fast haha) :P I've stopped using sponges since I started using brushes too… the poor environment does need a break :x

      Yes I do double cleanse like that every 2 weeks or once a month depending on how often I use the brush and yes it does feel super soft doesn't it? :D

Share Your Thoughts

