Benefit Hello Flawless Oxygen Wow Brightening Makeup

That was quite a mouthful wasn’t it? But that’s what you can expect from Benefit Cosmetics :P

I love foundations, and lately I’ve been into liquid foundations (No brushes and powder residue to clean up, and it looks and finishes more natural). My staple had been the RMK Liquid Foundation, but as seeing as sometimes I do travel (To Labuan, mainly), I needed a non-glass bottle for easier packing :P My researches lead me to Benefit Hello Flawless Oxygen Wow! Brightening Makeup and I’m very happy with it!

First of all, I don’t believe in this “oxygen” gimmick- pure oxygen is actually toxic to your body and you require oxygen from the inside through respiration… so slapping on oxygen, which is a gas (And hence combines into the atmosphere), on your skin for instance, is a pretty moot point. But that’s just me, feel free to correct me if I’m wrong. So having said that, I don’t expect this foundation to work it’s so-called oxygenating wonders on me :)

Anyway…

Benefit Hello Flawless Oxygen Wow! Brightening Makeup

Hello… it’s flawless time! Our new oil-free brightening liquid foundation builds from light to medium coverage for a natural complexion you can believe in. It’s you…just more luminous & healthy looking.

Benefit Hello Flawless Oxygen Wow Brightening Makeup comes in a plastic pump bottle that’s super convenient for travelling, and I like the design on the cap and the design of the box, which has the Benefit Cosmetics trademark quirkiness. It comes with SPF 25 PA+++, but I still slap on my Marie Veronique Organics Moisturising Face Screen SPF 30 underneath anyway :P And despite having titanium dioxide as part of its ingredients, it does not photograph white in my photos under either indoor or outdoor lighting thus far.

The shade that I got is “I’m Plush & Precious Petal” or just “Petal“, which is if I’m not mistaken the second or third lightest shade they have, but is at least yellow-ish, which I always prefer as I really look too pink especially in photos. The next shade which is “Cheers To Me Champagne” or just “Champagne” seemed a little too dark.

Texture wise it’s pretty creamy but not thick and there’s no discernible scent. I use my fingers to apply it, and blending takes a little longer than usual to even out any streaks but it could be because of my sunscreen underneath as I’ve known others don’t exactly have this problem. Coverage is pretty sheer, it covers any visible pores and especially my redness (My main gripe) well without looking thick or cakey, and doesn’t feel heavy at all either. It lasted pretty long on me too (I don’t use primer)- I’ve had it on once for about 12 hours and it still looks freshly applied with no noticeable oxidation or oiliness breaking through either.

I only need to use about half a pump for my entire face so it’s pretty worth it. It is buildable to medium coverage if you need it- I find that one full pump gives me a medium coverage and although it still doesn’t look thick or feel heavy, I cannot take it personally :P

This is how it looks swatched- the first one from the left is how it looks squeezed out, then the second is swiped on and the third is blended in. It looks pretty dark in the bottle and when pumped out actually, and you can can still see it after blending it in, but it evens out on my face nicely.

What I REALLY love about it is that it doesn’t break me out and the ingredients list don’t seem to have alcohol or alcohol denat. amongst it, which most liquid foundations tend to have and they have a high change of breaking me out (I’m looking at you, Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua and Bobbi Brown liquid foundations).

I find that it really lives up to the word brightening in its name though. My face does seem to look brighter and more radiant after putting on this foundation compared to the others I’ve tried. Also, after double cleansing at night my face also feels softer, again compared to the other foundations I’ve used. So, despite it’s “oxygen” claim, I find that it’s still a really good foundation and is definitely a keeper for me :P

It retails for RM 130 for 30ml and is available at Benefit Cosmetics counters.

Active Ingredients: Octinoxate 5.49%, Titanium Dioxide 2.37%

Other Ingredients: Aqua (Water), Dimethicone, Glycerin, Phenyl Trimethicone, Isododecane, PEG-9 Polydimethylsiloxyethyl Dimethicone, Butylene Glycol, Butylene Glycol Dicaprylate/Dicaprate, Pentylene Glycol, Maris Aqua (Sea Water), Phenoxyethanol, Chondrus Crispus (Carrageenan), Silica, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Stearic Acid, Sodium Myristoyl Glutamate, Alumina, Tocopheryl Acetate, Propylene Carbonate, Prolinamidoethyl Imidazole, Saccharomyces Lysate Extract, Ascorbyl Tetraisopalmitate, BHT. [+/- CI 77002 (Aluminium Hydroxide), CI 77007 (Ultramarines), CI 77163 (Bismuth Oxychloride), CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499 (Iron Oxides), CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide)]

Check out Beauty Cabby‘s review on this product too!

7 thoughts on “Benefit Hello Flawless Oxygen Wow Brightening Makeup

  1. hey there! i’ve been eyeing this forever but when i swatched it in store i think i saw a little bit of shimmer in the foundation.. does it show up very obviously on the face? thanks :)

    • Sorry for the late reply, for some reason your comment was in my spam folder! :s

      I’ve not seen any discernible shimmer in this foundation for as long as I’ve been using it though! And even if there is, it’s not obvious on the face- I don’t look like a disco ball for sure haha :D

      Thank you for dropping by! :)

  2. Thanks for the review. I read Lyn’s review and yours and I find both your views on the foundation name agreeable. Sometimes, I think brands just want to be different so they slap on whatever they can think of.
    I have way too many foundations at the moment to be looking for something else but I still enjoy reading :-) Too bad about vitalumiere aqua. It’s such a lovely one, I have 2! Do you have sensitive skin?

    • Benefit is known for being quirky though especially with names- it’s more of the claim that I groan about haha! One can never have too many foundations for different finishes/moods I guess! :P Yes I have very sensitive skin sadly, and sometimes I’m not sure if it’ll react to the product. Kind of unpredictable :( Vitalumiere Aqua is pretty but my skin can’t take the high alcohol content in it and broke out (My alcohol-induced breakouts are big red angry head-less lumps).

Share Your Thoughts

