L’Occitane Lavender Hand Purifying Gel

Those who know me will know that I have minor OCD (obsessive-compulsive disorder), and apart from obsessing over cleaning my room and arranging my things the way I want them to be arranged, I need to keep my hands clean. As a result, there’s always a bottle of hand sanitiser in my bag, along with antibacterial wet wipes (When applicable, especially when travelling). However, hand sanitisers tend to dry out my hands, so either I have to cut down on the frequency of my usage, or add a tube of hand cream to my bag… which adds to the weight of my bag so it’s not that ideal.

Enter the L’Occitane Lavender Hand Purifying Gel. I checked it out earlier during my outing with Sukie of A Little Bit Of Everything and Hanny of Hanny’s Random Ramblings, but I only got it later when I bought my second bottle of L’Occitane 5 Essential Oils Repairing Conditioner (Which I mentioned about and reviewed here) because I needed a hand sanitiser to bring along to my trip to Labuan and also because I have read the mention about it here from Beautyholics Anonymous.

L’Occitane Lavender Hand Purifying Gel

“Cleanses without water nor soap!

For squeaky-clean hands anytime, anywhere, this hydroalcoholic Lavender Purifying Hand Gel lets you “wash” your hands without the need for soap or water. Thanks to its portable size, you can take this gel anywhere – simply keep one in your handbag, glove compartment, etc.

It’s… a nicely packaged hand sanitiser in a squeezable aluminium tube. That smells of lavender. And that’s the first thing you’ll notice about this hand sanitiser when you open it- the smell of lavender and not alcohol, and the scent was the first thing I tried out when I was at the L’Occitane store in Mid Valley Megamall before buying it later. The smell of lavender is thankfully not powdery but very natural, and although it does come out quite strong when you apply the hand sanitiser, it dissipates after a while so it’s a good thing especially if you plan on eating or handling foodstuff later. I can’t vouch for how well it actually sanitises, obviously (Hopefully well enough), but what I can vouch for about this is that it doesn’t have that alcohol “sting” (Both smell and effect) some hand sanitisers may have, and it doesn’t make my hands feel papery, itchy and dry, which they sometimes feel when I use hand sanitisers, which is great.

It has a decent sized dispensing hole, and you can easily control the amount of sanitiser dispensed partly also due to the squeezy aluminium tube so any wastage is minimised. Texture-wise, I would describe it as a watery gel and as a result it makes it easy to apply. Only a small amount is required- the amount dispensed on my hand in the photo above was even a little bit too much, so I can foresee this tube lasting for quite a while despite having used it daily and frequently. It may cost more than your average normal hand sanitisers, but in the long run I suppose it’s worth it. And also only if you have gripes with normal hand sanitisers and like or at least don’t mind the smell of lavender :P

The L’Occitane Lavender Hand Purifying Gel retails for RM 30 for 50ml.

Ingredients: Alcohol, Aqua/Water, Glycerin, Lavandula Augustifolia (Lavender) Oil, Melaleuca Alternifolia (Tea Tree) Leaf Oil, Glyceryl Caprylate, Octyldodecanol, Dehydroxanthan Gum, Parfum/Fragrance, Linalool, Limonene, Geraniol.

2 thoughts on “L’Occitane Lavender Hand Purifying Gel

  1. I bought this right after I read your post, sweetie. You enabler! I was rather shocked at how light the tube is and I weighed different tubes in my hands in an attempt to buy the heaviest one. HAHAHA! What a cheapskate I am! =D

    • Well dearie to be fair we all checked it out together! :P I did the same thing too! Yes it’s actually quite light but it doesn’t seem to showing signs of finishing up yet… hopefully haha!

Share Your Thoughts

