Dr Andrew Weil For Origins

I remember reading about the Dr Andrew Weil For Origins Mega-Mushroom Skin Relief Face Serum and seeing its adverts in magazines when it still had the word Plantidote in its name, but the Dr Andrew Weil For Origins range and Origins in general had never really attracted me for some reason, until 2008 when I bought the Christmas set out of a whim. It came with the range’s cleanser, serum and moisturiser. I used it a few times and remembered thinking “Meh” and “Nothing special” and had never touched it, until recently when my interest in it was sparked again. Of course the products from the Christmas set were too old to be used already by then so I bought the serum and tried it again, but after prolonged continuous use my skin didn’t like it by erupting in small pimples (But nothing major). I shelved it and I thought that was the end of trying the range and the brand for me.

Then my cleanser crisis came along and I was still on the hunt for the “one” replacement cleanser, and decided to give the cleanser a try again. To date I ended up with two products from the Dr Andrew Weil For Origins range :P

Dr Andrew Weil For Origins Mega-Mushroom Skin Relief Face Cleanser

This milky cleanser features Dr Weil’s proprietary Mega-Mushroom blend plus skin soothing Bisabolol from Chamomile. Gently, yet effectively melts makeup, dirt, debris and impurities without upsetting sensitive skin. Leaves skin comfortably clean and calm. Great for sensitive and reactive skin.

I bought the Dr Andrew Weil For Origins Mega-Mushroom Skin Relief Face Cleanser before my last trip to Labuan in December 2011 and used it for the entire duration I was there. I love the smell- it smells like the serum- earthy. It doesn’t foam up and the texture isn’t milky as claimed- it’s more like a balm because it feels rather thick, so only a small amount is required for the entire face and it rinses off easily. I even use the cleanser around and on my eye area to no ill effects, and it does seem to remove some light makeup when I tested it, but I still prefer to double cleanse at night. It does leave my skin feeling calm, non-reddish and feeling soft after washing, and throughout my entire time using it I did not experience any adverse effects e.g. whiteheads or breakouts, which is great. Plus points for coming in a tube, as it’s travel-friendly and easy to dispense and control the amount dispensed. I did try a few cleansers after this one but I still went back to it, so I think my search has ended :P

The Dr Andrew Weil For Origins Mega-Mushroom Skin Relief Face Cleanser retails for RM 130 for 150ml.

Please click on the image to enlarge if you’re interested in the ingredients list. It’s too long to type out and makes the post oh-so-wordy :P

Dr Andrew Weil For Origins Mega-Mushroom Skin Relief Eye Serum

This lightweight, moisturizing eye serum with Dr Weil’s proprietary Mega-Mushroom blend instantly quiets and calms vulnerable, redness-prone eye zones. Visibly reduces under eye puffiness and dark circles. Eyes look healthy, refreshed and comforted.

I loved the cleanser so much, I wanted to try the other products in the range, but was worried about my skin’s reaction (Especially since I reacted negatively to the serum), so I decided to give the Dr Andrew Weil For Origins Mega-Mushroom Skin Relief Eye Serum a try instead. The eye serum did not smell like the face serum or the cleanser at all, but instead smells more “savoury”. The texture and consistency is neither too thick nor too thin, and is easy and smooth to apply. It does seem to have reduced my eye’s minor puffiness, but I can’t really vouch for reducing dark circles- they’re “now you see it now you don’t” but it doesn’t seem to get worse for sure. My eyes are pretty sensitive but not sensitive enough to react to everything that goes near it, but I do feel that my eyes do feel “calmer” after using this serum, and definitely looks fresher! It also does not interfere with my eyeliner applications- they all go on smoothly. I love the eye serum too!

The Dr Andrew Weil For Origins Mega-Mushroom Skin Relief Eye Serum retails for RM 200 for 15ml.

Please click on the image to enlarge if you’re interested in the ingredients list. It’s too long to type out and makes the post oh-so-wordy :P

They may seem quite costly, and I don’t deny that they aren’t expensive especially when you’re buying them for the first time, but you only need a small amount of product each time you use them based on my usage- the Dr Andrew Weil For Origins Mega-Mushroom Skin Relief Face Cleanser has lasted for about more than 3 months for me with twice-a-day, everyday usage, and the Dr Andrew Weil For Origins Mega-Mushroom Skin Relief Eye Serum only requires a small amount, not even a pump. I find that  a “drop” (Very gentle press of the pump) is even more than enough for both my peepers, so I can foresee the tiny bottle lasting me quite a while.

Origins has something called a “purity promise“, which is a huge plus, along with the Dr Andrew Weil For Origins range’s pledge that after-tax profits from royalties from the sales of products in the range are donated to the Weil Foundation for research on integrative medicine. Thankfully though, I’ve had no negative reactions to these two products (Touch wood!) despite the incredibly long list of ingredients, but in fact love them, so it’s all right :P I’m already on my second tube of the cleanser, too :D Sukie also happens to love the Dr Andrew Weil For Origins range, especially the face serum and the lotion!

6 thoughts on “Dr Andrew Weil For Origins

  1. Thanks for the link, love! I seem to have overlooked the fact that the eye serum comes in such a cute pump bottle!! +__+ When I tell people I use Origins’ products, their first response will almost always be ‘So expensive lah!’ but I share the same views as you do – they go a very long way! =D I love the serum because I’ve noticed a significant reduction in redness on my face and I’m giving the product full credit for doing so! =p

    • You’re welcome dearie :D Yes, the pump bottle is like a miniature version of the serum and it really is cute! *_* Yeap they definitely do, they do go a very long way so they’re worth the money! :D Too bad my skin does not like the serum though T___T

    • I always have a least one extra on hand when I’m using one, just in case! :D But yeah… after my previous bad attempts maybe should stock up more T_T Wait… you are making paranoid waaa!

  2. Pingback: The 100% Pure Konjac Sponge « beaute fabuleuse

  3. Pingback: iS Clinical Cleansing Complex « beaute fabuleuse

Share Your Thoughts

