Face Oil Reviews Part 1

Face oils are a skincare staple of mine, of course :)

In one of my previous Sunday Tips, I have extolled the virtues of using oils, so I shall now present to you some of the face oils which I own and have tried. There’s also supposed to be Jurlique Skin Balancing Face Oil, Kiehl’s Superbly Restorative Argan Dry Oil and Melvita Argan Oil in the photo, but I’ve forgotten where I put the bottles already :P

A lot of people will cringe at the mention of “oil”, particularly those with oily and/or blemished skin, but apparently certain types of oils are good for reducing the bad bacteria that causes acne and pimples and to also regulate sebum production. And according to Marie Veronique Organics, using oils without any interference (From wax or other ingredients) allows the skin to receive the fatty acids it needs and to repair the skin’s lipid barrier. A damaged or compromised lipid barrier is what causes the skin to have problems such as acne, sensitivity and wrinkles. So oils are really suitable for people of all skin types, but then again it also depends on what oils.

I started using face oils seriously in 2008 when I had a severe breakout on my chin area from my part-time work that time and stress that wouldn’t go away, and was recommended the Eve Taylor Face Oil No. 3 after a facial at Aster Spring in 1 Utama. I was also taught the proper way to apply it (Right after cleansing), and it worked beautifully for me, so it has always been my “fall-back” for severe breakouts.

For this post I review a few face oils first as to not make this post long-winded :P And I will subsequently talk about the other face oils too!

My current favourite ones that I am using regularly now are from Melvita. I like how they’re “single” oils compared to most which are a blend of several oils, so it’s easier to see their effects on the skin, but that’s just my opinion.

The Calendula Oil is suitable for sensitive skin, and I’m actually on my second bottle now. I use it like a serum in the mornings before my Marie Veronique Organics Moisturizing Face Screen SPF 30- Light Tint, and at night before the Sweet Almond Oil. It’s quite viscous, dark yellow in colour and smells quite seed-ish, much like sunflower seeds. It retails for RM 107 for a 50ml bottle.

The Sweet Almond Oil is suitable for dry skin, and I use it at night as the final step in my skincare routine for its extra moisturising properties, which I felt the Calendula Oil wasn’t providing enough as I sleep in an air-conditioned room. It’s quite runny, a lighter yellow in colour and smells rather nutty, like how almonds should smell but without the bitterness. It retails for RM 77 for a 50ml bottle.

I find that despite being oils they don’t leave a lingering heavy greasy feeling on my skin and instead leaves my skin feeling soft, smooth and looking glow-y. They also lived up to their claims- they kept my skin well moisturised and in my sensitive skin’s case, not reactive and not irritated. Admittedly, the oils do take some time to absorb into the skin depending how much you use (I generally use half a pump to one pump- if I use a 2-3 drops it almost instantly absorbs into my skin), but I did not even need to wait for the oils to be fully absorbed before applying anything else on top, as is the case in the mornings when I use Marie Veronique Organics Moisturizing Face Screen SPF 30- Light Tint right after the Calendula Oil. It’s also very worth the price- whilst most face oils come in 30ml bottles, they come in 50ml bottles and the best part (For me) is that they’re organic and also ECOCERT certified :)

My only complaint would be the pump -it leaks, and leaking leads to wastage! Melvita, please change the design of your pumps for the face oils- all the bottles I have leaks from the pump :(

7 thoughts on “Face Oil Reviews Part 1

  1. Hello Steph! I’ve just started using facial oils and I’m really loving the Kiehl’s Midnight Recovery Concentrate serum! Have yet to drop by the Melvita store in KLCC and it looks like I’ve got to do so real soon! Oils used to scare me quite a bit as I have oil seeds around my eye area (due to Clinique’s dramatically different moisturizer) so I’ve always stayed away from them for fear of oil seeds sprouting all over my face! Seeing how this has helped with your breakouts, I am convinced they shouldn’t be that bad after all! =D

    • Oh I love the Kiehl’s Midnight Recovery Serum too! :) Will review that soon :P Yes, I suggest you ask the SAs in Melvita what oil would suit you (If you’re interested) as they’ll guide you better- for example I wanted an oil for dry skin, and they asked what type of dry skin (e.g. dehydrated, peeling/flaking) so you don’t get the “wrong” type of oil :) Don’t use too much oil and you should be fine! :D And yes, I am greatly indebted to face oils for helping me recover from breakouts haha!

  2. Thanks for the recommendation..I personally never tried using facial oil before as like everyone else, I always have this mis-conception of oil against oily face is wrong..haha. Can you tell where can we find this brand? Is it sold in Guardian or Watson?

  3. Pingback: Delayed Saturday Meme- 5 HG Skincare/Makeup « beaute fabuleuse

Share Your Thoughts

