Marie Veronique Organics Products Review

I’ve always had my eye on Marie Veronique Organics since reading the raves from Viva Woman, but it’s not available in Malaysia, which is a huge bummer :( However, I was recently able to get my hands on them due to 1. my boyfriend having subscribed to a US forwarding address service and 2. it was near Christmas and they were having free shipping for US orders, so I took the opportunity to place my order.

Marie Veronique Organics is built on the philosophy of “Intelligent Ingredients“, meaning that all ingredients used are safe enough to enter the body, and as such their products contain absolutely no ingredients that could potentially be harmful to the body as well as toxic preservatives, petroleum-based products, fragrances, alcohol, parabens and fillers to name a few. Some of their ingredients are also certified organic, and are also fair trade and local whenever possible, with 100% recyclable packaging and labels. They even donate 10% of their profits to help women and children in third world countries.

I ordered the Gentle Cleanser and the apparently much-raved and loved Moisturizing Face Screen SPF30. I was pleasantly surprised to have received them on Friday23rd December 2011– which is before Christmas and before postal services shut down for the holidays, as I had actually expected to receive them somewhere in January :D

The products come in heavy brown glass bottles which are very luxe, but not very practical for travelling. I’ll have to think of something when I travel to Labuan next :( Both the cleanser and sunscreen comes with pumps to dispense the products, which is a huge plus because it’s more hygienic and minimises exposure of the products to air. I’ve no problems with the pumps thus far, it’s pretty easy to control the amount of product dispensed through them too.

This post might be a bit long, though :P

Marie Veronique Organics Gentle Cleanser

Removes the daily accumulation of dirt and grime. Gently cleanses without harsh or irritating sudsing agents. Naturally soothes and softens skin with green tea, jade, oatmeal, and aloe. No toxic preservatives, sudsing agents, anti-microbials, fragrances, alcohol, or detergents. 100% Vegan.

I am still on the lookout for a good cleanser, and while I may have found a few good ones since the Cleanser Crisis Showdown (Reviews soon to be up), the description for this as well as the ingredients list (It sounded pretty luxurious) caught my eye. It’s also suitable for “normal to dry skin, including hyperpigmentation, rosacea and sensitive“, which sounds relatively suitable for my skin type so I decided to give it a try.

The texture is almost gel-cream. If you look closely, there are some tiny little black and white granules, which I attribute to the rice bran powder and adzuki bean powder it contains. Despite having those ingredients, it does not feel grainy or harsh, but you can definitely feel them around. I only need to use one pump for my entire face and neck, and it’s even gentle enough to use on the eyes without clouding or stinging. It spreads easily, does not foam, but rinses off easily, and smells pretty aromatherapy-like but not in a floral way. I love the smell- it seems to relax me. It works well to calm my skin down, and my skin does not feel tight or taut after washing. Touch wood, I’ve not experienced any breakouts since using it, but it did reduce the few small and developing hormone-related pimples that I was experiencing prior to using it instead. I am very glad I decided to try this- I like it very much.

It costs US$ 30 for 120ml. Pretty pricey, but I personally feel it’s worth it since I don’t need to use a lot of it and it works well for me.

Ingredients: Camellia Sinensis (Green & White Tea), Aloe Barbadensis (Aloe Vera Gel), Vegetable Glycerin, Hydrolyzed Jade, Lactic Acid, Xantham Gum, Potassium Sorbate, Agave, Colloidal Oatmeal, Rice Bran Powder, Spirulina, Marshmallow Root, Honeysuckle, Adzuki Bean Powder, Rosemary Oleoresin, Lavendula Angustfolia (Lavender) Essential Oil, Pelargonium Graveolens (Geranium) Essential Oil.

Marie Veronique Organics Moisturizing Face Screen SPF30- Extra Light Tint

Protects against the complete UVA/UVB spectrum, naturally, safely and effectively. Higher concentration of zinc oxide makes this ideal for heavier sun exposure. Provides moisturizing and healing properties with red raspberry seed oil, sea buckthorn oil, and immortelle. Includes antioxidants such as green tea and vitamin e for anti-aging support. Contains non-micronized zinc oxide, a physical sun block that reflects UV rays without releasing wrinkle and cancer-causing free radicals. Absorbs into the skin leaving a lovely matte finish. No harmful chemicals, nanoparticles, parabens, fillers, waxes or fragrances. Active ingredient: 20% non-nano zinc oxide.

This is apparently one of the most highly-raved product of Marie Veronique Organics, and was listed as one of the top 25 moisturisers with sunscreen in the Environmental Working Group’s 2011 Sunscreen Guide with a rating of 1, meaning that it’s of low hazard to one’s skin, health and the environment. This is also one of Sesame of Viva Woman‘s favourite product and from where I learnt about it. I’ve always wanted to give this product a try because of these acclaims, also since because I have sensitive skin that can be quite picky and thus have not much choices to choose from :P

I got the one listed as Extra Light Tint, which is basically no tint, as it “is also good for men and women who prefer untinted products“. The name of the tint is not listed on the label, unlike the Light Tint and Medium Tint. Texture-wise it’s pretty creamy, but to me it spreads pretty easily and as such is quite easily blended, just like any other normal moisturiser. The smell is also aromatherapy-ish, but is more onto the medicinal and herbal kind. Some people might dislike it, but I like it. It’s something different from other products on the market, and it’s not unpleasant. I use it in lieu of moisturiser and sunscreen, which just saved me some time off my morning routine! :P It’s definitely moisturising enough for me to take the place of a moisturiser (And I have dry skin), but dries down to a nice matte finish, which to me is a plus. My foundation (Which is always powder/compact foundation) goes beautifully on top of it, I don’t experience any greasiness or oiliness (Especially on my nose) and my skin actually looks great all day long! It seems to make most imperfections and redness on my skin disappear, and touch wood I’ve not had any severe negative reactions using it as well. Am quite satisfied with it :D

Left- Blended, Right- Blended after a while.

As you can see though, it does seem to leave a whitish cast. Maybe I should have gotten the Light Tint, but I chose the Extra Light Tint on the pretext that I prefer untinted products and was worried that it may interfere with the colour of my foundation or it might even be too dark on me. However, I have found ways to get around the whitish cast (Though not completely, but at least it’s not as obvious0 and that is either by using less than a pump (Which is more than enough to cover my face) or by using it above face oil (I use Melvita Calendula Oil), which sheers it out a bit, so all is well!

It costs US$ 40 for 60ml. I believe most sunscreens here are sold in 30ml bottles (Or at least the ones I used to use are) so although pricey, I think this is worth it. You don’t need to use a lot as well.

Active Ingredients: 20% Non-Nano Zinc Oxide.

Ingredients: Camellia sinensis (Green & White Tea), Non-Nano Zinc Oxide, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Oil, Prunus Armeniaca (Apricot Kernel) Oil, Limnanthes Alba (Meadowfoam Seed) Oil, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Oil, Emu Oil, Tocopherol (Vitamin E), Vegetable Glycerin, Elaesis Guineensis (Red Palm) Oil, Rubus Idaeus (Red Raspberry Seed) Oil, Lecithin, Potassium Sorbate, Allantoin, Cosmocil CQ, Xanthan Gum, Mica, Hippophae Rhamnoides (Sea Buckthorn) Oil, Calodendrum Capense (Yangu) Oil, Rosemarinus Officinalis (Rosemary Oleoresin), Pearl Powder, Daucus Carota (Carrot Seed) Essential Oil, Cistus Incanus (Cistus) Essential Oil, Helichrysum Italicum (Helichrysum) Essential Oil, Iron Oxides.

Verdict And Thoughts:

One thing I noticed about the Marie Veronique Organics products though, is that it doesn’t seem to play well with other face oils especially if they’re oil blends.

In the morning after cleansing, I apply Eve Taylor Face Oil No. 1 then followed by my toner, serum and the Moisturizing Face Screen, and at night I double cleanse- first with my long-standing Dermalogica Precleanse and then the Gentle Cleanser. I experienced some very obvious whiteheads on my chin. Nothing serious, but it’s there and you can really feel them, and truth be told it’s a little bit annoying. This does not happen at all when I switch out the Eve Taylor Face Oil No. 1 in the morning (Instead using the sequence of toner, serum and then Melvita Calendula Oil which is a non-blend face oil), when I use other cleansers after the Dermalogica Precleanse at night or when I use the Gentle Cleanser on its own in the morning. No whiteheads at all, which is pretty weird.

Marie Veronique Organics products are available online. They do ship internationally, but I’m not sure if they ship directly to Malaysia or how much it will cost (I believe you will have to email them and ask), but they do offer free international shipping for orders over US$ 175. As for me, I am using a U.S.A. forwarding service courtesy of my boyfriend, so I will definitely repurchase these two items again because I really like them and the philosophy behind their products.

At the time of writing, curiousity got the better of me and I have ordered the Moisturizing Face Screen in Light Tint. We’ll see how it fares, yes? :P

5 thoughts on “Marie Veronique Organics Products Review

  1. Glad you’re enjoying the products. The MVO facescreen is great when it works for your skin. Your whiteheads might be a case of ‘purging’ but it might also be due to the zinc oxide. Hope it’s just a temporary issue though.

    • Hopefully it’s temporary too! But it has seem to subsided… not as obvious as before but you can still feel them. Or maybe it could be a hormonal thing too :P Will keep monitoring. Other than that it’s been a dream! :)

  2. Oh dear! You’ve got me wanting the sunscreen really bad now! I always BURN so I’ve always been on the look out for a ‘healthier’ sunscreen but too bad Marie Veronique Organics isn’t available in Malaysia! =(

    • Before using the MVO sunscreen, I’ve used the Clarins and Chanel sunscreen. I tested out both under pretty extreme conditions (Going on a waterfall trip for a whole day and swimming) and got sunburnt on places I didn’t apply sunscreen (Shoulders :P) but my face didn’t burn or tan much! Maybe you could try them as an alternative to the MVO one? They’re both pretty healthy, though they contain alcohol (But strangely I’m fine with it)- Clarins has mainly titanium dioxide but Chanel has both titanium dioxide and zinc oxide.

  3. Pingback: Delayed Saturday Meme- 5 HG Skincare/Makeup « beaute fabuleuse

Share Your Thoughts

