Sunday Tip #17

Every Sunday I shall share here a beauty tip that I’ve read or heard about, and leave my comments or thoughts on it. Please feel free to leave your views, too! :)

Now I don’t say that this is a must-do, but if you do use sunscreen and/or foundation (Whether it’s sheer, medium or high-coverage), or wear makeup overall, double cleansing, which can mean cleansing twice or more commonly using two cleansers (Usually the first one being a cleansing oil) can help to thoroughly clean your skin, removing all the sunscreen and/or foundation and/or makeup as well as all the gunk that may have accumulated on your face throughout the day. Having cleaner skin from double cleansing also means 1) less breakouts, as there is a decrease in any pore-clogging residue and 2) a more effective skincare routine, as your skin is well-prepped and will be able to better absorb your skincare products afterwards, which as a result, makes it regenerate better.

Here is a good article from Viva Woman on double cleansing :)

Some famous cleansing oils you can try as your first step in double cleansing would be Shu Uemura’s cleansing oils, but cheaper alternatives such as one from Hada Labo and the Biore Cleansing Oil also exist now so it depends on your preference and budget. Personally I am a huge fan of Dermalogica Precleanse, which I’ve been using for many many years now with great results and no negative reactions (Touch wood), especially since Shu Uemura‘s, which was the first one I tried, broke me out :( I also like to use a separate makeup remover for my eye makeup first, then use cleansing oil when double cleansing over my eyes (Gently!) to remove any leftover residue.

Share Your Thoughts

