Saturday Meme- 5 Things That Make You Happy

Hello! Am already back in Kuala Lumpur since Monday evening but have been busy playing catch up with some things (And chores) and I am apparently still recovering from “jet lag”, hence the lack of a “normal” post this whole week, even though I did plan to have one up :x But I thought this would be a good prompt to get me back into the groove! That, and I’m kind of cracking my head with what to review- reason will be up next week, so stay tuned as regular posting will hopefully by next week! :P

Anyway, to kick start today’s Saturday Meme, again with my dear Sukie of A Little Bit of Everything, we’ll be talking about 5 Things That Make You Happy! I do think I definitely have more than 5 things that would make me happy (As is the case with every Saturday Meme), but these are the ones that had immediately sprung to my mind when I was writing this up, so here’s mine in no particular order! :)

1. Books

Image nicked from here.

I absolutely love love love books. Nothing can beat books in my book (Pun intended), especially physical books. I’ve been told I could read since I was 2 years old and I have never looked back since. Want to keep me quiet? Just throw me a book and I will be, and I can spend a lot of time pottering about a bookstore >_< I will literally read anything, except autobiographies or biographies (For some reason, I don’t like them), and I dream of one day owning my own private library/reading room with ceiling-to-floor bookcases for my books, which I have a lot of because I read quite fast and hence go through a lot of them :P Buying and reading books just give me great pleasure.

2. Wind Chimes

Image nicked from here.

For some reason I am apparently quite partial to the sound of wind chimes- metal, glass, bamboo, ceramic/porcelain, whatever, as it makes me feel happy and most of all calm. Why? I’m not too sure myself, but it’s a very welcome sound to my ears :) Too bad most of the time it doesn’t seem to be windy enough here, as the wind chimes hung on my front porch hardly make any noise. Maybe that or they need a windier place hmmm.

3. Rain

Imaged nicked from here.

I’m talking about the natural phenomenon, not the Korean entertainer >_> And only if I am indoors or at home and not out and about in the open where I would get drenched :x Rain makes me happy because it seems to relax me, be it the soft pitter patter of a drizzle or the heavy pounding of a storm, with rumbling, rolling thunder in the background. Most importantly though, rain always cools down the temperature and clears everything, so it’s a huge relief especially on searing hot days or hazy days!

4. Anything Handmade

I am a quite a sucker for anything handmade, due to their uniqueness and the personal touches that usually comes with them. Browsing Etsy is a guilty pleasure of mine, but because the selection of handmade items is so vast, I have trouble actually buying something from there (Thankfully!) :P At the moment I am absolutely in LOVE with Fushigi Shop (Featured image), and am quite partial to Sereni And Shentel hairbands (Which I own two of) and Sweet Contemplation Accessories (Reviewed here) for their handmade items! I also love trawling flea markets and bazaars for handmade stuff. Being able to get my hands on some special, one-of-a-kind handmade items definitely makes me happy ;)

5. Shopping

Image nicked from here.

Yes, being a little stereotypical here. But I don’t necessarily have to buy anything though, just window shopping pleases me already, and it doesn’t necessarily have to be “girly” things (Like makeup, accessories, clothes, though they all do make me happy too)- I can look at about almost anything, as long as they happen to catch my fancy (Think gadgets, books, DIY/home improvement and the like) :P Taking a walk in a shopping mall, just browsing around is enough to make me feel happy and satisfied :D

Image partially nicked from Sukie herself! 

They are not things per se, but a special mention must go to my family (Dad, Mum and little brother), my sweet boyfriend Louis and dear dear Sukie herself- because they make me really happy too! :) Am really happy and thankful every single day to have them in my life to light it up and I could only ever wish that I could do the same to them too! Oh and I also suppose my pets (My 2 dogs in Labuan, my dog here in Kuala Lumpur, my guinea pig and my koi) make me happy too so I should give them a special mention as well- sorry no photos though :P

So what are your 5 Things That Make You Happy? ;) Let me know in the comments or link to your blog post if you’ve written about it! In the meantime, please do drop by at Sukie‘s for her 5 Things That Make You Happy too! :D

5 thoughts on “Saturday Meme- 5 Things That Make You Happy

  1. Hello sweetie!! I am sorry I thought my comment went through!! :s but first things first, I like all the things that make you happy. I love books, and gosh my parents used to throw me books (they still do) to shush me up and windchimes as well as rain make me so happy! I prefer the lyrical tinkling of porcelain (preferably bone china) windchimes as opposed to the hollow-y sounds of the bamboo ones but just the sound of them makes me happy too!

    You didn’t need to mention shopping, did you? =D Owh I indulged in a bit of online retail therapy today. :s So much for my spending ban. >.<

    • No worries darling! Haha I love how both of posts combined are what makes us happy! :D Yes my parents still shush me up with books and it’s the only thing I can spend a ridiculous amount of money on and they won’t say a word (Unlike clothes etc) :x Oh yes I like the tinkling of bone china/porcelain windchimes and glass more, but bamboo is pretty unique on it’s own- though they all make me happy :D

      I couldn’t help mentioning shopping :P Tsk tsk for violating your ban :x I’ve been online window shopping as well though and it’s not going to be doing me any good! >_<

  2. Pingback: Lovely Fings From Fushigi Shop « beaute fabuleuse

Share Your Thoughts

