Chanel Illusion d’Ombre In 83 Illusoire

Confession: I’m an eyeshadow virgin- I’ve never used eyeshadow before, at least applying it by myself, and I have no idea how to do so without looking like a zombie or looking like I got punched. That, and one of my eye is “deeper” in than the other, which makes it a little hard from what I’ve experimented with, and so I gave up :P

That is, until my dear friend Sukie hosted a blog sale, and was contemplating selling her Chanel Illusion d’Ombre Long Wear Luminous Eyeshadow in 83 Illusoire as well. Needless to say I jumped at the opportunity, having checked out the swatches both online and in person (On my arm) when I visited the Chanel makeup boutique to restock my Vitalumiere Eclat compact. It seemed a lovely colour, was reasonably priced, it’s a Chanel and thus worth a try.

I was not disappointed.

Chanel Illusion d’Ombre Long Wear Luminous Eyeshadow- 83 Illusoire

This intensely shimmering long-wear eyeshadow offers true versatility. An innovative gel texture that is both soft and cushiony allows it to be worn as eyeshadow or eyeliner. Includes a specially designed shadow/liner brush, developed specifically for this unique formula.

Illusoire is what I would describe as a purple-ish, grey-ish mauve/taupe with silver-ish shimmer, but the shimmer is not that obvious and won’t make your eyes look like a disco ball, at least on me. I do have a thing for grey-ish eyeshadows, as I personally love the dark smoky eye look, which is another factor I bought it to try.

Texture-wise, it’s very smooth, almost bouncy and mousse-like too. I can use my ring finger (Which I normally do) or my Ecotools Bamboo Eye Shading Brush, and application, blending and layering is super easy! I don’t have the brush it’s supposed to come with, so I can’t review how it is with the brush :P It also works well with most of my eyeliners on top of it- Urban Decay 24/7 Waterproof Liquid EyelinerMaybelline Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Eyeliner, Rouge Bunny Rouge Raven Glaze Lacquer Liner and Smashbox Limitless Waterproof Liquid Liner Pen to name a few and is easy to remove with my Empro Perfect Eye And Lip Make-Up Remover.

Pigmentation-wise, I wouldn’t say it’s sheer, nor is it super pigmented, but you don’t need a lot for sure. I can basically adjust how intense I want it to be on my lids, especially considering my “shallower” eye needs slightly more to look balanced. It also has good lasting power- it did not smudge, crease or migrate to anywhere else on or around my eyes, even after having it on for up to 10 hours or more, unless of course you accidentally rub your eyes.

Swatches on the left are taken under artificial light, while swatches on the right are taken under natural light. The line on the left is one swipe using the ring finger, and the line on the right is 3 swipes. An interesting thing to note about Illusoire- when applying it, it might seem like it doesn’t show, but it does show well especially when you go under natural or sunlight and in photographs.

All along I thought that for the nude look, I needed to use “neutral” colours like brown. Boy was I mistaken! :P Brown not only makes my eyes look swollen, it did not suit me at all. Illusoire suited me, and I was completely blown away in every aspect the very first time I tried it.

Contrary to my assumption that Illusoire is more suitable for dramatic, night-time wear, it is actually a suitable shade to use irregardless of day or night for me. When worn alone on my eyes without anything else, it gives me a simple, nude-ish look that doesn’t seem overdone, and when paired with eyeliner and mascara, gives me an overall very polished look, at least in my opinion. Photo on the right is me wearing Chanel Illusion d’Ombre in 83 Illusoire with Chanel Inimitable Extreme Mascara and Maybelline Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Eyeliner in Blackest Black, while photo on the left is me wearing just Chanel Illusion d’Ombre in 83 Illusoire. On my face is Chanel Vitalumiere Eclat Radiance Comfort Compact Makeup in BO10 Beige Ochre Pastel.

Pardon my dry lips :P

It retails for RM 110 (If I am not mistaken) for a 4g glass jar that exudes luxury. Pricey, but I think it’s going to be worth the money because I don’t need to use a lot at once and see it lasting a while.

This is my first time ever using an eyeshadow, and I am very impressed at how well it suits me and how it is such a dream to apply in every way! I really can’t stop raving about and loving this :D

It’s kind of official now- I’m more of a Chanel makeup person than any other makeup brands I’ve tried :x

5 thoughts on “Chanel Illusion d’Ombre In 83 Illusoire

  1. OOOO! Glad you liked it dearie! (For le umpteenth time, maybe) I’ve swatched Illusoire in real life and although I’m not in love with it (Rarely am once I’ve seen stuff in real life anyways), I’m sure that the formula is really unique, because we don’t have the other boing boing eyeshadows to compare with yet! ^.^

    Aiya, but if you wanna do a dark smokey look, you’ll need more eyeshadows la dear. MUAHAHAHAHAHAHA.

    • I can’t really compare eyeshadow formulas because this is the only eyeshadow I have, but I like it for sure XD Easy enough for a n00b like me to use :)

      Nooooo it’s OK, this is enough to give me the look already :P

  2. I’m also useless with eyeshadow. hehe. nice to know I’m not the only adult who just can’t get the hang of it! This eyeshadow looks realy nice on you. great that you’ve found one that you can work with. I personally have found cream eye shadows to be the easiest for me. benefit creaseless creams in particular. :)

    • I was quite intrigued with Benefit’s Creaseless Cream eyeshadows too, particularly in Skinny Jeans, but never got around to getting it for some reason :P Hehe yay for being hopeless with eyeshadows then! :D Thank you- I really love how Illusoire looks on me too and I’m glad it did! :)

  3. Pingback: Saturday Meme- 5 Favourite Brands « beaute fabuleuse

Share Your Thoughts

