T. LeClerc Pressed Powder In Banane

Introducing the T. LeClerc Pressed Powder. This is my favourite pressed powder that I simply cannot live without despite trying to find for an alternative for it. Goodness knows how many of these I’ve gone through- I lost count, but it must be more than 5 :P I actually personally prefer pressed powders as compared to loose powders because they’re less messier and easier to travel with, despite it finishing up faster than loose powders. Weird, I know.

The powder comes housed in a really beautiful and hefty silver metal compact (Though I doubt it’s really metal), with a velvet pouch and a really thin velour puff for application. It’s simple, practical and doesn’t take up a lot of space. And it has a pretty big mirror too :P I’ve dropped the compact before (Closed) and the powder didn’t shatter or break, so the packaging seems to be really sturdy.

Texture

Based on natural rice starch that catches the light, it provides an even and natural complexion. This powder is well-tolerated by the most sensitive skin, and also serves as protection against pollution and solar radiation. Its soft and fine texture structures the skin with lightness and day-long comfort.

Application

Let your base or foundation be absorbed for few minutes before applying loose or compact powder. Apply generously with a velour puff over concealer or base. Use a large flat powder brush for a more subtle effect when applying over foundation. Smooth off any excess powder with a large powder brush.

Compared to other loose and pressed powders that I have tried, such as Chanel and Make Up For Ever, this may feel a little coarse and gritty- still smooth but not as finely milled, but I’ve not had a problem with that. I used to use a sponge for application, but now I’m using my Lunasol Cheek Brush NRMK Cheek Brush S or Sephora Classic Mineral Powder Brush #45 (My favourite). A sponge gives slightly heavier coverage while the coverage is lighter when using a brush. The “puff” that comes with it is pretty useless so I personally don’t use it at all. Application is actually quite smooth and easy, but not slippery (Silicone and silicone derivatives are part of the ingredients list) and it does not appear cakey or powdery if you’re heavy handed. Though if you have dry patches or peeling skin the powder might cling to and accentuate them so it’s best to make sure that your skin is well-moisturized beforehand.

I apply it over my Marie Veronique Organics Moisturizing Face Screen now, and it has always worked quite well in keeping my skin matte and oil-free, especially my nose which does have a tendency to look oily by the end of the day. I mainly use the T. LeClerc Pressed Powder in place of foundation since I prefer sheer coverage, and it has always worked well as one for me :P

Colour

Soft pale yellow. Reflects light in a most flattering way, illuminating fair to medium European complexions with pink undertones. It bestows an enviable glow and lightens up the skin with one sweep, masking any imperfections, including dark circles.

The shade I got is Banane, which is basically yellow and I think is their most famous shade. I find that it does work well to reduce the redness on my face, and yes, it does seem to brighten up my eye area when I sweep the powder on them- to me there’s a difference. Nothing major or obvious but any dark eye circles/eye bags does seem to be reduced a little. Maybe it’s just me :P The shade, although light, doesn’t interfere with any foundation (If any) and/or tinted sunscreen that I use underneath it, and when used alone it doesn’t make you look like a sallow vampire. In other words it doesn’t change your skin/foundation colour. Instead, you do seem to get a more radiant-looking and fresher complexion. I personally don’t feel that it masks any imperfections, though, especially obvious ones such as acne scars and/or pigmentation- one might need a proper concealer and/or foundation for that. And in my long time of using the T. LeClerc Pressed Powder, my skin did not seem to rebel or break out from it, which is a really good thing.

When used daily, I think a compact lasts for about 1-3 months. The downside to me is mainly it’s availability.

It costs RM 169 for 10g, and is so far only available at Ken’s Apothecary in Empire Shopping Gallery Subang Jaya. You can find it on StrawberryNet too, for cheaper, but I find that the Banane shade always seems to run out of stock pretty fast!

Ingredients: Talc, Oryza Sativa Starch (Oryza Sativa (Rice) Starch), Octyldodecyl Stearoyl Stearate, Cetyl Acetate, Lauroyl Lysine, Nylon-12, Zinc Stearate, Cyclomethicone, Magnesium Myristate, Acetylated Lanolin Alcohol, Dimethiconol, Ethylhexyl Stearate, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Silica, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Butylparaben, Ethylparaben, Propylparaben, Isobutylparaben, Parfum (Fragrance). [+/- (May Contain: Mica, Cl 77947 (Zinc Oxide), Cl 19140 (Yellow 5), Cl 77491 (Iron Oxides), Cl 77492 (Iron Oxides), Cl 77499 (Iron Oxides), Cl 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), Cl 73360 (Red 30)].

6 thoughts on “T. LeClerc Pressed Powder In Banane

  1. hey… I thought this brand had pulled out of Malaysia. They used to have a standalone counter in Metrojaya Midvalley.

    • Yeap, I heard that it was previously even available in Parkson 1 Utama (Which would be way nearer for me!) and had pulled out, but it’s available again now though only through Ken’s Apothecary in Empire :(

  2. Lovely and detailed review! I wouldn’t have gone near this product as it does look really yellow! Like you, I prefer sheer coverage and this sounds like my cuppa tea! Will be hunting this down when I run out of my Dior natural glow powder hehe :p

    • Ah but the yellow really doesn’t show once you applied it! :D Which is the beauty of this product, really, though you know it’s there because it cuts off any redness on your skin and seems to perk you up. I think it’s got to do with us being Asian/Chinese? Haha :P And some of their powders seem to have colour-correcting abilities if I’m not mistaken, so it can “correct” your foundation too apparently. Good luck with the hunt! I’m about to restock mine soon :D

      • I love T Le Clerc loose powder! I had been using it since year 2001/2 when they first came to Malaysia, but was so sad that they pulled out about 2 years back. Yes, they have a range of different shades for different skin tones (about 14 shades). I used to buy different shades, including Orchidee, Camelia and Translucide and mixed them to get best results. I have fair-to-pale skin, so these colours suit me. Also, the 25g silver metail box pack is more value for money at RM169, cheaper than UK price (GBP36).

        The range of shades and its suitability (for which skin tone) can be found in this site:

        http://www.t-leclerc.co.uk/product_info.php?products_id=4

        • They are really great! No doubt about that. Too bad I don’t go to Subang often or at all, or else restocking would be easier, but sometimes they do run out of stock very easily too and take quite a while to have them back in stock!

          Thank you for dropping by BTW xxxx

Share Your Thoughts

