Sunday Tip #1

Every Sunday I shall share here a beauty tip that I’ve read or heard about, and leave my comments or thoughts on it. Please feel free to leave your views, too! :)

I use a lot of products, apparently. Instead of the usual cleanse > tone > moisturise routine, my routine in the morning consists of cleanser > toner > sensitive skin serum > hydrating serum > moisturiser > sunscreen > foundation and at night it consists of cleansing oil > cleanser > toner > sensitive skin serum > hydrating serum > face oil. My skin has never been better, though (Touch wood!), and my routine has been working for me for quite some time already. I’ve tried cutting down on the amount of steps and products, mainly the serums, in an effort to reduce the amount of products on my skin and to probably save time, but my skin didn’t like it.

I think it’s more important, however, to properly cleanse your face properly to reduce congestion and subsequently breakouts. Think of all the pollution and grime that are potentially accumulated on your face during the day (And also night), coupled with your sunscreen and makeup. And as usual, never go to bed with makeup still on! I find that if my face is not properly cleansed those tiny rough bumps all over my skin will appear, so I make every effort to take everything off my face properly.

Also, if you’re familiar with Japanese (Or East Asian such as Korean)-style skincare you will know that they also incorporate a lot of products into their routine, and they take every pain to ensure that their skin looks good, and most often it works (Correct me if I’m wrong). It could be a combination of factors but I also find that using the proper skincare that suits your skin type also helps a lot. For me my skin is mainly sensitive and dry, and to reduce irritation, pore congestion and breakouts I use sensitivity-reducing and hydrating skincare. Using unsuitable products may irritate your skin, clog your pores and/or cause breakouts, which happens in my case.

So, what do you think? Use a lot of products (Within reason), or less is more?

2 thoughts on “Sunday Tip #1

    • My skin is really sensitive and thin according to all my beauticians, and as you can see I use a lot of products, but my skin has never been better (Touch wood!). I guess it depends on the person and/or the products, but I think the products play a really big role haha :)

Share Your Thoughts

